Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

The New Gear: Maintenance, Repair, and Modification Forum.
----Hosted by Al Benoit

Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby dylanger » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:07 pm

How hard is this? I turned up my amp to 7 the other night with my Les Paul and reeeaaaalllyyyy liked it but I would like to be able to do this without turning up so loud. Here's a kit I found online, would it be worth it to get this or could I just pick up that the parts at Munro's?

http://taweber.powweb.com/store/modkits.htm#ef86


Dylan
dylanger
Silver Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:16 pm

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Mathieu Benoit » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:52 pm

Why not just get a power attenuator?
"Volume automation takes time. You don't got that kinda time. You could be getting naked with somebody somewhere." -Slipperman

Mathieu Benoit - Fluid Productions
www.fluidaudiogroup.com
www.facebook.com/FluidAudioGroup
User avatar
Mathieu Benoit
Drumwaiter
 
Posts: 4707
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Malcolm Boyce » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:39 pm

Using something like a power soak is going to get you part way to what you want but unfortunately part of what you are loving is the way the cab sounds, and the interaction with the guitar itself at that level.
"Once again, it is NEVER the gear that makes a good record.
It just fills Forum pages..." --compasspnt

middleaudio.com
User avatar
Malcolm Boyce
Your Humble Host
 
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Saint John, NB

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Mathieu Benoit » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:47 am

Malcolm Boyce wrote:Using something like a power soak is going to get you part way to what you want but unfortunately part of what you are loving is the way the cab sounds, and the interaction with the guitar itself at that level.


Exackery.
"Volume automation takes time. You don't got that kinda time. You could be getting naked with somebody somewhere." -Slipperman

Mathieu Benoit - Fluid Productions
www.fluidaudiogroup.com
www.facebook.com/FluidAudioGroup
User avatar
Mathieu Benoit
Drumwaiter
 
Posts: 4707
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Alain Benoit » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:07 am

$8 is pretty cheap for a dual pot, 4 film caps and a knob. Then again add shipping, duty, brokerage, taxes, exchange rate and the fact that Weber has been known to drop orders, also that is kind of a cheap pot, TA Weber is not known for quality parts.
Munro's will not have a dual 1M in stock but you can certainly order one.

Other wise pretty straight forward mod, slam it in between your LTP and your power tubes ahead of your bias feed and Robert is your father's brother. Don't forget your couplers.
www.fluidaudiogroup.com

"No one has time to do it right, but we all seem to have time to do it twice."
User avatar
Alain Benoit
Self Biased Resistor
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Canada

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby dylanger » Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:39 am

I undertand that its my cabinet too but if I could just use the master volume to get this to happen a little bit sooner I think I would be happy. roflmao
dylanger
Silver Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:16 pm

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Alain Benoit » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:15 pm

dylanger wrote:.... if I could just use the master volume to get this to happen a little bit sooner ......


I've lost your logic there, please explain!
www.fluidaudiogroup.com

"No one has time to do it right, but we all seem to have time to do it twice."
User avatar
Alain Benoit
Self Biased Resistor
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Canada

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby dylanger » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:25 pm

Dirt up without having to turn it up to 7
dylanger
Silver Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:16 pm

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Alain Benoit » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:40 pm

The excitation of your cabinet is fairly independent of the amount of dirt and more due to actual SPL.
www.fluidaudiogroup.com

"No one has time to do it right, but we all seem to have time to do it twice."
User avatar
Alain Benoit
Self Biased Resistor
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Canada

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby sean.boyer » Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:12 pm

I did an MV mod to my Bassman 50 which had been converted to Blackface specs.
It was a pre-phase inverter mod. Just a coupling cap from the PI feed to a 1M pot, then to the input of the PI. Pretty simple.

To expand on what Malcolm said, a lot of the greatness of the "turned up" sound doesn't just comes from the preamp. It's a combination of preamp over drive, PI overdrive, power amp overdrive, speaker drive and cabinet/room resonance, etc.
I found with my Bassman that it was worth while to have the MV though, as you do get a good amount of nice sounding dirt from the preamp (especially since for my dirty channel I had added the unused triode section in a Marshall Plexi type configuration in series with the first preamp section to drive the gain up). The way I had it configured, I had split where the two channels meet for the PI input, and had the MV pot only affect the first (dirty) channel.

In conclusion, I'm not really sure how much of a benefit the MV control would be for you on an otherwise stock Bassman, but it wouldn't hurt.

(PS - I had removed the second channels input jacks and that's where I put my MV pot, as well as a mid pot.)

Hope that helps
sean.boyer
Active Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:15 pm
Location: Saint John

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby Malcolm Boyce » Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:17 pm

Hey Sean... Good to see you here.
"Once again, it is NEVER the gear that makes a good record.
It just fills Forum pages..." --compasspnt

middleaudio.com
User avatar
Malcolm Boyce
Your Humble Host
 
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Saint John, NB

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby sean.boyer » Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:17 pm

Oh, one other thing... That kit would be useless for you, unless you reconfigured the power section to be cathode biased. Which would be stupid IMO.
The parts you'd need for an MV mod you could get at Munro and would only be around $5.
sean.boyer
Active Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:15 pm
Location: Saint John

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby sean.boyer » Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:19 pm

Hey Malcolm,
Thanks! I pop in and out here and there.

Haha, just realized that this thread is 6 months old, and if the OP is anything like me, he probably doesn't even have the amp anymore ;) Oh well.
sean.boyer
Active Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:15 pm
Location: Saint John

Re: Adding a Master Volume to my Bassman

Postby dylanger » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:09 pm

I'll always have my bassman!
dylanger
Silver Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:16 pm


Return to Fluid Wireworks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron