Yet another drum question from me

Tech talk about audio recording and live stage production.
---Hosted by Andrew MacRae & Malcolm Boyce

Yet another drum question from me

Postby dylanger » Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:37 am

So I plan on buying a drum kit in the next month or so. When I was young teenager I was a drummer (not that I admit that too often) and I had a pretty ghetto setup. My cymbals were old and broken and the shells were bought for $60 by my big brother. I plan on going all out for this and it's going to be used for recording and probably never for live use.

So the only problem I'm having with this is I'm on the fence over maple and birch. I plan on getting Yamaha absolute. I really like Matt's maple bass drum. More and more I'm hearing that exact same sound on some really good records. Would I lose a bit of this with birch or would it be better. What do you folks prefer to record with and for what reasons. There's a considerable price difference between the two, about $600.
dylanger
Silver Member

Re: Yet another drum question from me

Postby Malcolm Boyce » Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:04 am

Love many different drums, of many different makeups. Woods, metals, acrylics, fiberglass... That being said, consistently, in similar or even identical configurations, I will prefer birch over maple shells for both recording and live. They are both excellent woods for exclusive drum shell construction, and it really is just a matter of taste. I also don't buy into the "for this kind of music" talk when it comes to selection of wood for shells. Head choice and tuning will play a much larger role in the suitability genera wise of a given drum set.

Help any?
"Once again, it is NEVER the gear that makes a good record.
It just fills Forum pages..." --compasspnt

middleaudio.com
Malcolm Boyce
Your Humble Host

Postby Malcolm Boyce » Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:14 am